My German adventures – part 2

The reason why I went to Braunschweig is to visit my friend A who used to live in London and then moved there because she found a job in their dance company. She is a dancer.
On Saturday evening I went to see her performing. The show was great and she’s changed so much since last year when I last saw her performing.

Braunschweig Theatre

FullSizeRender_4

FullSizeRender 3

Since it was a première there was a food buffet open to everyone (I love free food) and a party for the dancers in the canteen where they eat every day. I was sooooo tired. I don’t know how I managed to stay awake all night – we went to bed at 3am – but I did and met so many wonderful people.
On Sunday we woke up at 9:30 (yes I had about 10 hours of sleep in two days). Braunschweig is a nice town, very small and quiet. The weather was lovely, so sunny and warm and we spent most of the day out walking around or sitting in a cafe. I did enjoy my time there but I would never ever live in a place like this. On Sunday everything was closed. Everything. Since we didn’t do much, I don’t have much to tell. I’ll just post some pictures of food.
Most if the time, as you know, I don’t eat meat. Turns out that not many German specialities are veggie and you know how much I love to have whatever is typical when I am on holiday. I decided then to try this dish called Leberkäse with fried eggs and bread. The Leberkäse is basically a thick cut of ham. Not my thing. And then I had a Flammkuche which is a puff pastry pizza with cheese, ham and spring onion. Slightly better but still quite heavy and salty.

IMG_1565

After all that food I decided I still needed a dessert. We went to a small cafe where they do massive slices of these amazing cakes. Apparently if you’re having a cake in Braunschweig this is how you do it.

FullSizeRender_2

And in the evening we went to a typical German Stube where I had Schnitzel with a creamy mushroom sauce and beers. No picture of that. I was too tired to even lift the fork to my mouth.
The journey home was very long but not as eventful as the journey in. The most exciting thing was discovering that at Hannover’s airport a normal bar of Lindt dark chocolate costs € 10.00!!!!! Bye bye Germany, I had way too many shocks for one weekend!

IMG_1573

One thought on “My German adventures – part 2

Leave a Reply

